Youth Commission

Search our website:
Winter Parking Refuse & Recycling

Youth Commission

On Oct 25, 2021, the Columbia Heights City Council approved amending the City Code to create a Columbia Heights Youth Commission. The purpose of this ordinance is to establish a Youth Commission to serve as an advisory body to the Columbia Heights City Council and other Boards and Commissions as appropriate. The Youth Commission shall be composed of no less than seven members and no more than twenty members. Members must be within the age range of 14-18 years old at the start of their current term and residents of the City of Columbia Heights for the entirety of their term. Commissioners serve two-year, staggered terms. Terms run from Oct 1 to Sept 30. Members are not subject to term limits as they are limited by age requirements. Youth Commission members are allowed three meeting absences per term. 

Jan 11
Feb 8
March 8
April 12
May 10
Sept 13
Oct 11
Nov 8
Dec 13
All meetings are 6 pm at City Hall unless otherwise noted. 

HOW TO APPLY - Application window currently closed, Check back in march
Application Packets for the Youth Commission's 2023-2024 Term Will be Available in March

The purpose of the Columbia Heights Youth Commission is to serve as an advisory body to the Columbia Heights City Council, and other Boards and Commissions as appropriate, inspire and bring to light new ideas from a youth perspective, create an educational environment for youth looking to expand their knowledge of government and leadership functions, and provide experience-building opportunities for area youth seeking increased community and local government engagement.

The Columbia Heights Youth Commission votes each year to approve by-laws establishing set standards and expectations for the following year. Members are expected to abide by these rules. The by-laws include officer role descriptions, order of operation, staff and council liaison duties, and more. All Youth Commission members, staff representatives, and Youth Commission applicants should be familiar with these guidelines. Read the By-Laws here.   

Member Roster
Anoosha Ali - Chair (current term ends fall 2024)
Roger Rogne - Vice Chair (current term ends fall 2023)
Muna Hussein - Secretary/Treasurer (current term ends fall 2024)
Nayeli Garcia-Genis - (current term ends fall 2023)
Silvia Hernandez-Monroy (current term ends fall 2023)
Jack Israelson (current term ends fall 2024)
Annabelle Johnson (current term ends fall 2023)
Tsenat Mamo (current term ends fall 2023)
Tristen Marquez (current term ends fall 2023)
Greta Solem (current term ends fall 2023)
Roman Tabor (current term ends fall 2023)
Dakota Williams (current term ends fall 2024)
Ben Sandell - Staff Representative
Mayor Amáda Márquez Simula - Council Liaison
Sara Ion - City Clerk