Finance

Search

Finance
The Finance Department is tasked with administering all the financial activities of the City. The Finance Department also oversees the City’s information systems and liquor store operations. 

Overview
The Finance Division, under the direction of the Finance Director, consists of three departments, each with its own manager:

Finance
The Finance Department provides accounting, financial reporting, budgeting, and treasury services for all functions of the City. This includes the customer billing functions for the City’s water, sewer, and refuse services.

Information Systems
The Information Systems Department provides information technology services for most functions of the City. Depending on the particular technology, the level of service by this department ranges from coordinating with outside vendors to implementing and maintaining systems and projects entirely in-house. Example systems include the City’s computer network, its telephone system, video security, mobile device management, et cetera.

Top Valu Liquor
The Liquor Department operates three retail liquor stores located within the City of Columbia Heights. Under MN statute, the primary purpose of municipal liquor stores is to control the distribution of alcohol for public safety purposes. Municipal liquor stores can also generate income for the community, reducing the amount of property taxes otherwise required for City functions. The City’s three-store operation has provided funds for City infrastructure and equipment, and for community policing activities such as D.A.R.E. that reduce the potential negative impacts of alcohol.


Staff Contact Information
Joseph Kloiber, Finance Director
Phone: (763) 706-3627 |  Email: jkloiber@columbiaheightsmn.gov

Jackie Zillmer, Assistant Finance Director
Phone:  (763) 706-3621  |  Email: jzillmer@columbiaheightsmn.gov

Mitchell Christensen, Payroll and Finance Analyst
Phone:  (763) 706-3629  |  Email: mchristensen@columbiaheightsmn.gov

Aleksandr Chernin, Information Systems Director
Phone:  (763) 706-3638  |  Email: achernin@columbiaheightsmn.gov

Jeff Hanson, Assistant IS Director

Phone:  (763) 706-3636  |  Email: jhanson@columbiaheightsmn.gov

Jason Schulz, Top Valu Liquor Stores Operations Manager 
Phone:  (763) 706-3852 |  Email: jschulz@columbiaheightsmn.gov