2020 General Election Results


2020 General Election Results

More than 11,380 residents in Columbia Heights voted in the 2020 general election on Tue, Nov 3, about 89% of the City’s total registered voters. That’s roughly 10% higher than the state average, which is itself the highest voter turnout in the nation. For the City of Columbia Heights, Amáda Márquez Simula won the mayoral race, while Connie Buesgens (incumbent) and Kay “Kt” Jacobs were the top two vote-getters for the two at-large City Council seats. They’ll be joining sitting council members Nick Novitsky and John Murzyn Jr. Incumbent Mayor Donna Schmitt did not seek reelection. For more election results, go here https://electionresults.sos.state.mn.us/.

Councilmember terms are four years beginning Jan 4, 2021, and ending Jan 6, 2025. The term for mayor is two years, ending Jan 2, 2023.

About the City Council
The City of Columbia Heights is governed by a five-member council, consisting of a mayor and four councilmembers elected at-large. The mayor serves a two-year term, with councilmembers serving staggered, four-year terms. Elections are held in November of even-numbered years. 

The City of Columbia Heights is a charter city. The City Charter determines the procedures of city government in accordance with state statutes and the Minnesota State Constitution. Under this charter, the City has adopted the council-manager form of government. The City Council appoints the City Manager, who is the chief administrative officer for the City. The City Council meets on the second and fourth Mondays of the month at 7 pm in the City Hall Council Chambers. For questions, contact City Clerk Nicole Tingley at 763-706-3611.