Ready. Set. Vote! Primary is Aug 14, Absentee Voting Closes Aug 13


Primary Election is Aug 14, 7 am to 8 pm; Absentee Voting Closes Aug 13, 5 pm
To view a sample ballot for the Aug 14 primary, go here. To find your polling place, go here. To vote absentee, visit City Hall during regular business hours (8 am to 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday). City Hall will also be open Sat, Aug 11, from 10 am to 3 pm, for absentee voting, and until 5 pm on Aug 13.  

The Columbia Heights primary ballot will include six mayoral candidates, though only five are running (Gary Peterson dropped out of the race too late to have his name removed from the ballot), four District 4 county commissioner candidates, and seven school board candidates. The top two vote getters in the mayoral and commissioner races and top six vote getters in the school board race will move onto the Nov 6 general election.

Columbia Heights Mayoral candidates:

Connie Buesgens
Sean P. Clerkin
Jeff Harstad
Donna Schmitt
Joseph Sturdevant

District 4 Anoka County Commissioner candidates:
Sean Broom
Adam Davis
Mandy Meisner
Joe Sturdevant

Columbia Heights School Board candidates:
Hala Asamarai
William Gauthier
Janet Kendall
Molly Lewis
Michel Novitsky
Laura J. Palmer
Joanna Stark

Polling Precincts:
Precinct 1 – John P. Murzyn Hall, 530 Mill St.
Precinct 2 – Immaculate Conception Church, 4030 Jackson St.
Precinct 3  Columbia Heights Library, 3939 Central Ave NE
Precinct 4  Highland Elementary School, 1500 49th Ave NE

Precinct 5 – First Lutheran Church, 1555 40th Ave NE
Precinct 6 – Highland Elementary School, 1500 49th Ave NE
Precinct 7 – Valley View Elementary School, 800 49th Ave NE
Precinct 8 – Valley View Elementary School, 800 49th Ave NE

Get more info on elections and voting here.

To watch video of the July 18 mayor and commissioner primary candidate forum, go here.