Charter Commission


Charter Commission


The City Charter enables the City of Columbia Heights to be a self-governing city under the municipal home rule provisions of the Constitution and Statutes of Minnesota. The Charter Commission is charged with keeping the City Charter current under procedures authorized by state statutes. The Charter Commission must have not more than fifteen and not less than seven members, which are appointed by the Chief Judge of the Tenth Judicial District. They are appointed for four year terms. 

View the City Charter

  • 7 pm
  • Meets quarterly on the third Thursday of the month (January, April , July, and October); special meetings held as needed.
  • Meetings are held in Conference Room 1 at City Hall

Agendas, Packets, & Minutes
Agendas and Packets are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are also available following approval.
View All

Charter Commission Members: 

 Steve Smith, President Tom Kaiser
 Matt Abel, Vice President Carolyn Laine
 Bill Hugo, Secretary Joe Schluender
 Kathy Ahlers Frost Simula
 Ramona Anderson Gregory K. Sloat
 Tyler Eubank Susan Wiseman
 Ben Harris Nick Zeimet
 Cliff Johnson  
Kt Jacobs, Council Liaison
Staff Contact
Nicole Tingley, City Clerk (763) 706-3611